Bump Mapping_displacement mapping_tests

I looked at this tutorial first of all and took quite a lot of notes to try and grasp the main idea behind bump mapping, normal mapping and displacement mapping. This was a brilliant video for understanding the logic behind these concepts but I felt like I needed to look at further tutorials to understand it on a more practical level.

Here are some of the notes I scribbled down while watching some of the tutorials online:

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I found this tutorial by Mike Hermes was very good on a practical level to try and understand the technique of bump mapping and displacement mapping. Following along with his process, I tried to understand how these techniques worked.

The beginning stages of Bump mapping and Displacement mapping:

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.27.46

I began by just modelling quickly two cubes in Maya

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.36.29

Then applied a texture in a very simple way, straight onto the cubes

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.39.27

On the left cube below, I used the technique of bump mapping. You can see visually the texture differences between the two.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.47.45Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.47.54Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.48.54Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.49.30Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 14.50.29

I also then tried to do displacement mapping but every tutorial I looked at involved using mental ray which I currently don’t have so I ended up with two very similar textures below. I will try to do displacement mapping again soon but for now, I think bump mapping should suffice for our Animation scene.

BumpMappingTest01BumpMappingTest02

Additional reading:

https://www.fisheyestudio.it/en/blog-maya-rendering/156-setting-up-displacement-in-maya-mental-ray

Leave a Reply

