Animatic

I’ve always loved watching the rough animatics after an animation movie has ended in the bonus features section and for the first time ever, I’m going to be working alongside others to help make one!

Our animatic has to be 30 seconds long which will make it difficult to convey a narrative in such a short time frame! Due to this reason, we (team of Darcy, Ryan, Siobhan and myself) all have decided to do an action scene which will involve many fast paced camera changes to help speed up the story telling process.

Inspiration

This video showing a comparison of Tarzan’s rough animatic sequence with the final product really inspired me with it’s dynamic camera angles and clever timing. I think it will be helpful for our group working on the “Tiki god” build a world project due to it’s jungle vibes and dramatic action sequence, which is a similar idea to what we’re hoping to produce.

 

A book I own which really inspired me for this task was “They Drew As They Pleased: The Hidden Art of Disney’s Golden Age”.

 

Processed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 preset

Referring to this book has helped me see visually, the impact particular compositions and character expressions could have on telling the story. I was inspired, in particular, by the hand drawn and painted sequence (above) from The Old Mill (1937) from the Walt Disney archives. The way in which the wind and weather is depicted through the line work and the bold tonal value experimentation has really inspired me for the scenes I have to work on.

 


 

Here is the final version of the animatic my group and I created:

The first sequence of hand drawn images are the ones I worked on.

There is a mixture of digital and traditional art because Siobhan and I didn’t have the the tools to make our pictures digitally. Although this made things a little more complicated, I think the hand drawn element added to the sense of dynamic action with the more organic lines and shading. It is a little off perspective wise but I think to overthink that element of drawing during the animatic stages takes away from the sense of movement in the shots.

Leave a Reply

