Composition and Tone

“COMPOSITION & TONE”

This week our focus was on exploring the impact of different styles of composition and lighting on our world and the characters within it.

One of the most important skills, of not just an animator but an artist in any field, is the ability to see images in silhouettes and greyscale tones.  A skill which I definitely do not have as of yet! However, after hearing my lecturers talk about the importance of tone and understanding it in Animation, I took it upon myself to look into the topic in more depth.

I found a brilliant video that explained in simple terms the meaning behind tone in Art, and informative articles with particular emphasis on the Old Masters such as Rembrandt.

And these written articles:

freshdesigner.com/how-to-draw-tonal-composition-studies
freshdesigner.com/how-to-see-in-value

These videos and articles shed so much light on an area of Art that I have never really learnt much about!

This week I was put on a new team again, this time with Ryan, Dearbhail and Lauren. This meant getting to know completely new characters, a new world and new people!

These two character designs below informed me in my next work for my new group.

Character Design sketches by Darcy Burrows.

These two works below I initially completed for class with little study on the topic of tonal composition.

img_3162

img_3167

img_3171

After presenting these drawings to my group and the rest of the class I knew I had my work cut out for me; leading me to really look into the topic of tone in Animation.

These are the images I produced after learning some more about Tone.

This week was one of the toughest weeks to date. For someone that loves to splash colour on the canvas, trying to back up and create images in just greyscale shades was difficult. However, I really enjoy learning more about areas of Art that I never knew before or properly understood!

Leave a Reply

